Be Social

Twitter: LastFM: PLAYBACK:stl YouTube: PLAYBACK:stl Instagram: Instagram

Book Reviews

Jessica Hendry Nelson | If Only You People Could Follow Directions (Counterpoint Press)

| Print |

Written by Jasmine Kille Sunday, 05 January 2014 09:34

Nelson’s memoir, although saddening at times, leaves us hopeful by the end.

 

 

Elysium: The Art of the Film; World War Z: The Art of the Film (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Thursday, 29 August 2013 21:22

With the “art of” books, you have time to actually sit and contemplate said production design, while also learning something of the process that went into planning and making the film.

 

   

Ziggyology: A Brief History of Ziggy Stardust | Simon Goddard (Ebury Press)

| Print |

Written by Jim Dunn Tuesday, 27 August 2013 19:09

ziggyology 75The book is a joyous read and will transport you back to a time when rock giants like Bowie and Mark Bolan (from T-Rex) roamed the planet.

 

Stephen King | Joyland (Hard Case Crime/Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Friday, 07 June 2013 08:49

But, for all of that, this is really a story about a young man at a pivotal time in his maturation, as narrated by his older and wiser self. If that reminds you of “The Body”/Stand By Me, well, there are other parallels as well.

   

Dave Thompson | If You Like True Blood (Hal Leonard)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Tuesday, 04 June 2013 20:19

trueblood 75You can pick it up and start reading anywhere, even if you’re not in the market for a new vampire film or novel at the moment.

 

Philip R. Simon | The Art of Bioshock Infinite (Dark Horse)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Monday, 13 May 2013 10:16

Bioshock Infinite HeaderSet in an age where Tesla, Edison, and Einstein were all at the peak of their careers, The Art of Bioshock Infinite shows a world that literally rose above anything humanity had imagined before.

 

 

   

Simon Goddard | Songs That Saved Your Life (Revised Edition): The Art of The Smiths 1982-87 (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by J. Church Saturday, 20 April 2013 12:04

songsthatsaved 75The book is a Harold Bloom-ian analysis of practically every song and performance from The Smith halcyon days.

 

Danielle Trussoni | Angelopolis (Viking)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Monday, 08 April 2013 11:39

Of the multitude of divergent subplots, very few reached completion, and at times the information they introduced was muddled and contradictory.

 

 

   

Hideo Furukawa | Belka, Why Don’t You Bark (VIZ Media/Haikasoru)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Monday, 21 January 2013 20:26

Belka, Why Don’t You Bark? isn’t a narrative in a traditional sense. It is told through dozens of different voices—some human, but mostly canine—all the while continuously jumping forward and backward through the ages.

 

Ramin Zahed | The Art of Rise of the Guardians (Insight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Thursday, 10 January 2013 21:12

Don’t ask me how they do it—if I knew, I’d be bottling it and selling it to the other studios, because it’s the kind of trick a lot of films have tried to pull off and failed.

 

   

Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin | The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook (Bella Books)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:54

What the authors have done is mostly find ways to cook dishes that are mentioned by the characters at home or in restaurants, but in some cases the actual restaurant recipes are still available.

 

 

Paul Davies | Awakening: The Art of Halo 4 (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:32

For fans of Halo, Awakening is a chance to gets a behind-the-scenes look at the playground laid out for their enjoyment.

 

   

Page 2 of 18

Share it...

deli.cio.usDiggFacebookFriendfeedGoogle BookmarksGoogle BuzzJumptagsLinkagogoLinkedinMySpacePropellerredditStumbleUponTwitter

From the Archive


Monday, 02 June 2008 13:29
Tuesday, 16 May 2006 05:35
Tuesday, 03 January 2012 13:20
Tuesday, 01 August 2006 08:04
Wednesday, 25 May 2011 21:33
Saturday, 31 December 2005 14:10
Wednesday, 11 August 2010 12:15
Thursday, 09 June 2011 20:48
Thursday, 05 October 2006 17:00
Thursday, 04 January 2007 16:00

From the Theatre & Arts


Friday, 31 July 2015 22:33
Monday, 27 July 2015 23:32
Wednesday, 22 July 2015 00:00
Tuesday, 14 July 2015 23:10
Tuesday, 07 July 2015 07:03