Be Social

Twitter: LastFM: PLAYBACK:stl YouTube: PLAYBACK:stl Instagram: Instagram

Book Reviews

Hideo Furukawa | Belka, Why Don’t You Bark (VIZ Media/Haikasoru)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Monday, 21 January 2013 20:26

Belka, Why Don’t You Bark? isn’t a narrative in a traditional sense. It is told through dozens of different voices—some human, but mostly canine—all the while continuously jumping forward and backward through the ages.

 

Ramin Zahed | The Art of Rise of the Guardians (Insight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Thursday, 10 January 2013 21:12

Don’t ask me how they do it—if I knew, I’d be bottling it and selling it to the other studios, because it’s the kind of trick a lot of films have tried to pull off and failed.

 

   

Judy Gelman and Peter Zheutlin | The Unofficial Mad Men Cookbook (Bella Books)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:54

What the authors have done is mostly find ways to cook dishes that are mentioned by the characters at home or in restaurants, but in some cases the actual restaurant recipes are still available.

 

 

Paul Davies | Awakening: The Art of Halo 4 (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Tuesday, 11 December 2012 20:32

For fans of Halo, Awakening is a chance to gets a behind-the-scenes look at the playground laid out for their enjoyment.

 

   

Mark Clark | Star Trek FAQ (Hal Leonard)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 05 December 2012 13:44

book star-trek-faqEverything Left to Know About the First Voyages of the Starship Enterprise

 

Katherine Rife | If You Like Quentin Tarantino/Scott Von Doviak | If You Like the Terminator (Limelight Editions)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Monday, 26 November 2012 08:58

ifyoulikequentin…Here Are Over 200 Films, TV Shows, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

   

Leonardo Faccio | Messi (Vintage)

| Print |

Written by Laura Hamlett Sunday, 11 November 2012 21:16

book messi"Like Maradona, Messi does not apply his brilliance to anything else other than playing soccer."

 

Joel W. Finler | Hollywood Movie Stills: Art and Technique in the Golden Age of the Studios (Titan Books)

| Print |

Written by Sarah Boslaugh Wednesday, 31 October 2012 12:49

Given the importance of movie stills during the years when Hollywood was king, it’s surprising they haven’t been studied more thoroughly.

   

Mark Danielewski | The Fifty Year Sword (Pantheon)

| Print |

Written by Brent Mueller Wednesday, 31 October 2012 09:36

In terms of writing, The Fifty Year Sword is a story that almost begs to be read aloud.

 

 

Marc Eliot | Michael Douglas: A Biography (Crown Archetype)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Friday, 12 October 2012 15:31

douglas bioThe “love stories” found here between successful fathers and sons who feel inferior to them are a psychologist’s dream.

   

Lauren Fox | Friends Like Us (Knopf)

| Print |

Written by Andrea Braun Wednesday, 03 October 2012 08:37

friendslikeusSometimes she purposely does the wrong thing. She is, in short, human.

 

Dylan Jones |The Biographical Dictionary of Popular Music from Adele to Ziggy, The Real A to Z of Rock and Pop (Picador)

| Print |

Written by Ashley White Wednesday, 03 October 2012 08:31

biodictionaryWhat I found to be the most difficult was actually continuing to read with the same fervor as I turned the pages.

   

Page 2 of 17

order sildenafil online

Share it...

deli.cio.usDiggFacebookFriendfeedGoogle BookmarksGoogle BuzzJumptagsLinkagogoLinkedinMySpacePropellerredditStumbleUponTwitter

From the Archive


Friday, 27 August 2010 11:58
Tuesday, 24 February 2009 17:00
Friday, 06 January 2006 06:00
Saturday, 06 January 2007 14:47
Thursday, 26 March 2009 15:32
Monday, 12 December 2005 07:28
Thursday, 09 December 2010 17:30
Thursday, 07 August 2014 22:33
Friday, 23 October 2009 03:36
Friday, 21 November 2008 01:40

For the Couch


portraitofjason_dvd.jpeg
Tuesday, 25 November 2014 20:43
Killershrews_dvd.jpg
Tuesday, 25 November 2014 20:34
ornette_dvd.jpg
Tuesday, 25 November 2014 20:27
dvd_violette.jpg
Friday, 14 November 2014 01:04
thelastsupper_75.jpg
Friday, 24 October 2014 19:04

From the Theatre & Arts


A-Christmas-Story_75.gif
Thursday, 18 December 2014 00:56
A-Christmas-Carol_75.gif
Saturday, 13 December 2014 16:22
Annie_75.gif
Friday, 05 December 2014 14:49
Motown-the-Musical_75.gif
Thursday, 27 November 2014 20:38
Dirty-Dancing_75.gif
Monday, 27 October 2014 17:45